Connect with us

General news

48th Kodansha Manga Award Reveals Winners Under Shonen, Shojo & Other Categories




The official website of Kodansha unveiled the winners of its 48th annual manga award on May 14, 2024.

The selection committee, comprised of notable figures from the manga industry, including Natsumi Ando, Tsunami Umino, Etsuji Ogawa, Koji Kumeta, Kaoru Hayamine, Norifusa Mita, and Makoto Yukimura.

Each winner will receive a certificate, a bronze statue, and a cash prize of one million yen.

Check out the winners in all the 3 categories, namely Shonen, Shojo and general category, below:

Best Shonen Manga

Winner: Kanehito Yamada & Tsukasa Abe’s Frieren: Beyond Journey’s End

The nominees under this category were:

  • The Fragrant Flower Blooms With Dignity
  • Gachiakuta
  • Tank Chair
  • Daemons of the Shadow Realm

Best Shojo Manga

Winner: Rumi Ichinohe’s I See Your Face, Turned Away

I See Your Face, Turned Away

The nominees under this category were:

  • In the Clear Moonlit Dusk
  • Firefly Wedding
  • A Sign of Affection

General Category

Winner: Tsurumaikada’s Medalist


The nominees under this category were:

  • Oshi no Ko
  • The Darwin Incident
  • Chiikawa
  • Nagatan to Ao to: Ichika no Ryoricho
  • Bokyo Taro

The Kodansha Manga Award, sponsored by publishing giants Kodansha, is an annual award for serialized manga published in the previous year.

Rina Hard & Ryosuke Fuji’s Shangri-La Frontier won the best shonen manga in the 47th Kodansha Manga award. Mamoru Ao’s Ano Ko no Kodomo won the best shojo manga and Misaki Takamatsu’s Skip and Loafer  won the best manga in the general category.

Kodansha Manga Awards began in 1977, with categories for shōnen and shōjo. The first award for the general category was in 1982. Kodansha introduced a children’s category award in 2003. However, it was merged into the shōnen and shōjo categories starting in 2015.

Source: Kodansha

Source link

Embedded Video